A foodie's journey to healthier living
 
    So, in an attempt to motivate myself in to a healthy new year, I tried a Jus cleanse by Jus by Julie. There was a Groupon for it and I thought, "Well, why not?"
   
    The Jus arrived on December 31st, and I began the cleanse on January 1st. The rules were simple. One cup of coffee in the morning, as much water and tea as I wanted, 6 Jus to get me through the day and if I absolutely couldn't handle not eating, steamed fresh vegetable.
   
    The beginning of the first day went okay. I enjoyed all the Jus I had, and I wasn't feeling any of the side-effects I've read about when I was researching various cleanses (fatigue, shaking, head aches, stomach cramps, etc). Then the evening rolled around and I felt like I was dying. Not only are you drinking nothing but liquid, but a Jus cleanse is only about 900 calories. You may find some out there that are a little bit more, but you're drinking all of them. At 1900 (7PM), I caved and had dinner with my family. Women in my family are notorious for blood sugar problems and that's exactly what was going on with me.
   
    Not to be discouraged (or waste my money since with the groupon, this was still $125), I decided I would Jus all day and eat one light meal in the evening. I did this for day two and three and it worked okay.

Now, let me be perfectly clear: I AM IN NO WAY ASSOCIATED WITH JUS BY JULIE OR ANY OTHER PROFESSIONAL COMPANY.

My results: I lost about a pound (thought it was probably muscle mass) and I didn't feel as bloated. I didn't crave sweets and I was motivated to pursue my healthy lifestyle.

Would I recommend this to anyone: No, and here's why. Any diet or fad that is having you eliminate food is, in my opinion, not good for you. My body knew what it wanted and when I fed it, it was happy and I felt a lot better. It's also incredibly expensive and you lose a lot of the fiber these foods can give you (which is really the best thing for you anyways).

If you decide to do a Jus cleanse: Talk to a doctor or nutritionist beforehand, don't workout while doing it (your body will end up eating your muscle to replenish energy and continue functioning), and listen to your body.

That's my food for thought.

-Shelby



Leave a Reply.